Kanye West’s Womenswear Clothing Line Debuts at Paris’ Fashion Week

Today Rapper Kanye West debuted his new Womenswear Spring/Summer 2012 clothing line Dw, at an exclusive runway show in Paris about 2 hours ago. He named the line assumably after his mother Donda West who passed away a few years ago. I was very excited to see the line and interested to see what creative direction Mr. West took with it.

While I will hold off giving my full opinion on it, I will say the line definitely has potential. There is a definitive urban vibe in some of the looks, but overall I see a very good collection of pieces which cater to more than just an urban crowd. There are some beautiful dresses, blazers and sweaters. A lot of textures, cutouts, exposed zippers, leather and even some fur (which I am not particularly found of) in the line which features a lot of layering. We see a large emphasis on white and neutral colors (my favorite) but also some black and a few splashes of bright colors which I feel is definitely a match for the direction fashion is moving. The line also features some beautiful shoes that were specially designed by Giuseppe Zanotti.

The peach dress pictured here, worn by Jourdan Dunn is probably my favorite piece of the entire line.

I was also happy to see a diverse group of models in the show. The lovely Jourdan Dunn, Chanel Iman, Anais Mali as well as Chinese model Shu Pei Quin were among the models Mr. West chose to use.


See the entire line here

Leave a Reply

