PASTOR CALLS LIL’ WAYNE THE “DEADEST RAPPER ALIVE” IN NEW BOOK

My name is Jomo K. Johnson. I am Pastor of Philly Open Air Church and also a Westminster Seminary Student.

I want to let you know about a potential story. First and foremost, I have completed a new book called Deadest Rapper Alive: The Rise of Lil Wayne and the Fall of Urban Youth. The book speaks about the cultural impact of Rapper Lil’ Wayne. I was motivated to write this book after seeing his strong and negative impact upon many young urban males in North Philadelphia. My heart was grieved by the utter darkness Lil’ Wayne was proclaiming and the influence it was having on young males with no father figures. Thus . . . I wrote this work.

I, along with a group called, “Last Testament” recorded a Music Soundtrack for the book. I believe that it was important to not only write a work on Wayne but also communicate to many of the people we are trying to reach in their familiar language. This language is RapMusic. Therefore the Soundtrack seeks to confront the culture and point people to Christ through the medium of Rap.

CLICK HERE TO READ CHAPTER ONE

Leave a Reply

